The London Scheme on Extradition within the Commonwealth

The London Scheme on Extradition within the Commonwealth (“the London Scheme”) was an agreement, rather than a multilateral treaty, introduced in 1966 with the aim of setting out a framework for the extradition of individuals between Commonwealth countries. The London Scheme was amended in 2000.

Under the London Scheme, extradition is possible for offences punishable, in both the requesting and requested state (the double criminality requirement) by imprisonment for two years or more. Offence included within the London Scheme are fiscal crimes, and crimes committed outside of the requesting state which constitute extraditable offences in the requested state.

The London Scheme requires prima face evidence that the person committed the offence. Further, extradition should not be precluded by law. States are permitted to lower the standard of proof between themselves when the record of the case is sufficient to warrant a trial and extradition is not precluded by law.

The following is a list of the 53 countries which comprise the Commonwealth of Nations: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, The Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Fiji, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, The Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St. Christopher and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, the United Kingdom, Uganda, Vanuatu and Zambia.

Jasvinder Nakhwal
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7822 7753

Nick Vamos
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7822 7776